Frequently Asked Questions

1. What states recognize the Maryland Resident concealed carry permit?

Reciprocity depends on residency, permit type, and age. For an in depth look on Maryland Reciprocity, please click here.

For more information on Maryland Reciprocity please refer to Maryland state laws for an in depth breakdown here.

2. What does Concealed Coalition provide for my certification process?

Concealed Coalition provides you with the educational safety training course in addition to in person training necessary to complete the educational and training portion of your Maryland resident concealed carry permit application. Should you choose to move forward with your application after completing the training and passing the certification test, you will have the option to download the required certificate of completion from our site, in addition to scheduling your required live fire training.

Once you have downloaded the certificate of completion, we will provide you with the step by step process you need to take to complete your application with the State of Maryland. Our online course certification is an educational tool. Your live fire training and in person training meet the educational requirements to apply for a Concealed Carry permit in the state of Maryland.

3. How old do I have to be to qualify for a Maryland Concealed Carry Permit?

21 years old.

4. If approved, are there restrictions on where and when I can carry a concealed weapon?

Yes. Places you may NOT carry concealed in Maryland include but are not limited to:

- As always, you must comply with federal law restrictions.

- State parks, national forests, state highway rest areas and Chesapeake Forest Lands

- Commercial aircrafts and Dredge boats

- Rehabilitation centers

- Any public school

- Child care centers

- Lodging establishments where the innkeeper has notified an individual, either orally or in writing, that the establishment refuses to provide further lodging

- State owned public buildings and associated grounds, and government buildings

- Any place where concealed firearms or listed as prohibited

- Demonstration at a public place or in a vehicle within 1,000 feet of a demonstration

- Anytime while under the influence of drugs or alcohol

- Within 100 yards of or in a park, church, school, public building and other place of public assembly (depending on municipality)

Please refer to Maryland state laws for an in depth breakdown or if you are unsure about where you can carry.

5. Can I get a refund?

At Concealed Coalition we understand that life happens all around us, all the time and many times is out of our control. For our in-person trainings we will do our best to accommodate you by rescheduling your training. Unfortunately, due to high demand, preparation costs and limited seating, if you call to reschedule between 24 - 72 hours before the day of your class, you will be charged a $35 rescheduling fee. However, if you do not notify us prior to 24 hours, do not show up or miss your elected class, it is not refundable, and you will have to pay full price to attend the class.

For online trainings the course you purchased is an online course and is delivered upon purchase. Since you will have already received our education via our online portal, we will be unable to refund you for any online order. All other refunds are on a case-by-case basis.

6. How can I be sure that this course is valid?

Our state certified trainer holds multiple certifications along with years of practical handgun experience. The course we offer online is comprised of nationally recognized course training materials used in all 50 states. We assure you with the satisfaction guarantee that our in-person and live fire training is not only valid but exceeds the minimum requirements for handgun safety training as outlined in the concealed carry permit requirements.

For more information about our trainer and the curriculum click the link below.

Course Credentials

7. Where can I find more information about Maryland concealed carry permits?

The State of Maryland explains the concealed carry permit process for Maryland residents in detail here:

https://mdsp.maryland.gov/Organization/Pages/CriminalInvestigationBureau/LicensingDivision/Firearms/WearandCarryPermit.aspx?View=%7B65f8b25f-4916-44a5-959b-7e07635e325f%7D&SortField=LinkTitle&SortDir=Asc

8. If approved, how many years is my permit issued for?

For the State of Maryland, it can vary.

For new applicants, a permit would be good for 2 years.

9. Is there additional training required for my Maryland Permit?

Maryland requires 16 hours of in-person training by a state approved instructor or organization for new applicants. This training must also include live-fire.