Frequently Asked Questions

1. What states recognize the Illinois Resident concealed carry permit?

Reciprocity depends on residency, permit type, and age. For an in depth look on Illinois Reciprocity, please click here.

For more information on Illinois Reciprocity please visit here.

2. What does Concealed Coalition provide for my certification process?

Concealed Coalition provides you with the educational safety training course in addition to in person training necessary to complete the educational and training portion of your Illinois resident concealed carry permit application. Should you choose to move forward with your application after completing the training and passing the certification test, you will have the option to download the required certificate of completion from our site, in addition to scheduling your required live fire training.

Once you have downloaded the certificate of completion, we will provide you with the step by step process you need to take to complete your application with the State of Illinois. Our online course certification is an educational tool. Your live fire training and in person training meet the educational requirements to apply for a Concealed Carry permit in the state of Illinois.

3. How old do I have to be to qualify for a Illinois Concealed Carry Permit?

21 years old.

Illinois has a comprehensive list of eligibility requirements here:

4. If approved, are there restrictions on where and when I can carry a concealed weapon?

Yes. Places you may NOT carry concealed in Illinois include but are not limited to:

- As always, you must comply with federal law restrictions.

- Any schools at any level, public or private and their premises including buses (elementary, middle and high school)

- Any building, real property, and parking area (permittee may carry on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area)

- Stadiums and arenas

- Private property where firearms are prohibited

- Courts

- Government Buildings

- Hospital, mental health facility, nursing home

- Juvenile detention centers

- Airports

- Amusement parks, zoo's, museums

- Gaming facilities

- Any public library

- Officer of the executive or legislative branch of state government

- Jails, prisons and correctional facilities

-Establishment where more than 50 percent of sales are from alcohol

- Nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site or facility regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission

- Public playgrounds, parks, etc.

- Public events

- Cook County Forest Preserve property

- Any event where a liquor license is required

- Public transportation

Please refer to Illinois state laws for an in depth breakdown or if you are unsure about where you can carry.

5. Can I get a refund?

At Concealed Coalition we understand that life happens all around us, all the time and many times is out of our control. For our in-person trainings we will do our best to accommodate you by rescheduling your training. Unfortunately, due to high demand, preparation costs and limited seating, if you call to reschedule between 24 - 72 hours before the day of your class, you will be charged a $35 rescheduling fee. However, if you do not notify us prior to 24 hours, do not show up or miss your elected class, it is not refundable, and you will have to pay full price to attend the class.

For online trainings the course you purchased is an online course and is delivered upon purchase. Since you will have already received our education via our online portal, we will be unable to refund you for any online order. All other refunds are on a case-by-case basis.

6. How can I be sure that this course is valid?

Our state certified trainer holds multiple certifications along with years of practical handgun experience. The course we offer online is comprised of nationally recognized course training materials used in all 50 states. We assure you with the satisfaction guarantee that our in-person and live fire training is not only valid but exceeds the minimum requirements for handgun safety training as outlined in the concealed carry permit requirements.

For more information about our trainer and the curriculum click the link below

Course Credentials

7. Where can I find more information about Illinois concealed carry permits?

The state of Illinois explains the concealed carry permit process for Illinois residents in detail here:

8. If approved, how many years is my permit issued for?

5 years

9. Is there additional training required for my Illinois Permit?

Illinois requires 16 hours of in person training by a state approved instructor or organization. This training must also include live-fire.