Frequently Asked Questions

1. What states recognize the West Virginia Resident concealed carry permit?

Reciprocity depends on residency, permit type, and age. For an in depth look on West Virginia Reciprocity, please click here.

For more information on West Virginia Reciprocity please visit here.

2. What does Concealed Coalition provide for my certification process?

Concealed Coalition provides you with the free educational safety training course necessary to complete the educational and training portion of your West Virginia resident concealed carry permit application. Should you choose to move forward with your application after completing the free training and passing the certification test, you will have the option to download the required certificate of completion from our site.

Once you have downloaded the certificate of completion, we will provide you with the step by step process you need to take to complete your application with the State of West Virginia. Our online course and certificate complete the requirement for the State of West Virginia for handgun training and education.

3. How old do I have to be to qualify for a West Virginia Concealed Carry Permit?

18 years old.

To review eligibility requirements please visit:

https://www.wvsp.gov/forms/Documents/CWP44A.pdf

4. If approved, are there restrictions on where and when I can carry a concealed weapon?

Yes. Places you may NOT carry concealed in West Virginia include but are not limited to:

-Any school buildings at any level, public or private, including vocational buildings. This also includes events.

-Courthouses

-Wherever there is a sign posted that firearms are prohibited

- Jails or correctional facilities

-State Capitol area

-Private property when prohibited by the property owner

-Building areas limited by municipal code.

Please refer to West Virginia state laws for an in depth breakdown or if you are unsure about where you can carry.

5. Can I get a refund?

At Concealed Coalition we understand that life happens all around us, all the time and many times is out of our control. For our in-person trainings we will do our best to accommodate you by rescheduling your training. Unfortunately, due to high demand, preparation costs and limited seating, if you call to reschedule between 24 - 72 hours before the day of your class, you will be charged a $35 rescheduling fee. However, if you do not notify us prior to 24 hours, do not show up or miss your elected class, it is not refundable, and you will have to pay full price to attend the class.

Due to COVID restrictions, class availability is limited as we work within the guidelines of the law. We appreciate your patience. We are working diligently to open as many classes as possible.

For online trainings the course you purchased is an online course and is delivered upon purchase. Due to the fact that you will have already received our education via our online portal, we will be unable to refund you the cost of the class training. All other refunds are on a case by case basis.

6. How can I be sure that this course is valid?

Documentation of familiarity of a handgun is the noted requirement by West Virginia law to fulfill the requirement for training in your application for a concealed carry permit. Our state certified trainer holds multiple certifications along with years of practical handgun experience. The course we offer online is comprised of nationally recognized course training materials used in all 50 states. We assure you with the satisfaction guarantee that our online training course is not only valid but exceeds the minimum requirements for handgun safety training as outlined in the concealed carry permit requirements.

For more information about our trainer and the curriculum click the link below.

Course Credentials

7. Where can I find more information about West Virginia concealed carry permits?

The West Virginia attorney general's website explains the concealed carry permit process for West Virginia residents in detail here.

8. If approved, how many years is my permit issued for?

5 years

9. Why do I need a permit if West Virginia is a Constitutional Carry State?

While West Virginia is a constitutional carry state, obtaining a West Virginia CCW permit gives you the ability to concealed carry in the 38 states that accept a West Virginia resident permit. This allows greater freedom to exercise your Second Amendment right while traveling across state borders.