Frequently Asked Questions

1. What states recognize the Minnesota Resident concealed carry permit?

Reciprocity depends on residency, permit type, and age. For an in depth look on Minnesota Reciprocity, please click here.

For more information on Minnesota Reciprocity please visit here.

2. What does Concealed Coalition provide for my certification process?

Concealed Coalition provides you with the educational safety training course necessary to complete the educational and training portion of your Minnesota resident concealed carry permit application. Should you choose to move forward with your application after completing the training and passing the certification test, you will have the option to download the required certificate of completion from our site, in addition to scheduling your required live fire training.

Once you have downloaded the certificate of completion we will provide you with the step by step process you need to take to complete your application with the State of Minnesota. Our online course certification and your live fire training meet the educational requirements to apply for a Concealed Carry permit in the state of Minnesota.

3. How old do I have to be to qualify for a Minnesota Concealed Carry Permit?

21 years old.

Minnesota has a comprehensive list of eligibility requirements here.

4. If approved, are there restrictions on where and when I can carry a concealed weapon?

Yes. Places you may NOT carry concealed in Minnesota include but are not limited to:

- As always, you must comply with federal law restrictions.
- Any schools at any level, public or private and their premises including buses (elementary, middle and high school)
- State hospitals
- Inn's and hotels who choose to prohibit firearms
- Places of employment if restricted by employer
- Childcare when children are present
- State game refuges
- Any private establishment or residence where firearms are prohibited
- Minnesota Zoological Garden
- Any jail or detention center/correctional facilities
- Certain wildlife areas. (check with the county to confirm)
- The state capitol building and other state owned buildings
- Any place while under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Any place of worship if they so choose to prohibit firearms

Please refer to Minnesota state laws for an in depth breakdown or if you are unsure about where you can carry.

5. Can I get a refund?

At Concealed Coalition we understand that life happens all around us, all the time and many times is out of our control. For our in-person trainings we will do our best to accommodate you by rescheduling your training. Unfortunately, due to high demand, preparation costs and limited seating, if you call to reschedule between 24 - 72 hours before the day of your class, you will be charged a $35 rescheduling fee. However, if you do not notify us prior to 24 hours, do not show up or miss your elected class, it is not refundable, and you will have to pay full price to attend the class.

For online trainings the course you purchased is an online course and is delivered upon purchase. Since you will have already received our education via our online portal, we will be unable to refund you for any online order. All other refunds are on a case-by-case basis.

6. How can I be sure that this course is valid?

Documentation of familiarity of a handgun is the noted requirement by Minnesota law to fulfill the requirement for training in your application for a concealed carry permit. Our state certified trainer holds multiple certifications along with years of practical handgun experience. The course we offer online is comprised of nationally recognized course training materials used in all 50 states. We assure you with the satisfaction guarantee that our online training course in addition to the live fire training is not only valid but exceeds the minimum requirements for handgun safety training as outlined in the concealed carry permit requirements.

For more information about our trainer and the curriculum click the link below.
Course Credentials

7. Where can I find more information about Minnesota concealed carry permits?

The Minnesota Bureau of Criminal apprehension explains the concealed carry permit process for Minnesota residents in detail here:

https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/bca-divisions/administrative/Pages/firearms-permit-to-carry.aspx

8. If approved, how many years is my permit issued for?

5 years

9. Is there additional training required for my Minnesota Permit?

Minnesota requires training by a state approved instructor or organization. This training can be done in person or online, but does require additional live-fire training.