Frequently Asked Questions

1. What states recognize the Iowa Resident concealed carry permit?

Reciprocity depends on residency, permit type, and age. For an in depth look on Iowa Reciprocity, please click here.

For more information on Iowa Reciprocity please visit here.

2. What does Concealed Coalition provide for my certification process?

Concealed Coalition provides you with the free educational safety training course necessary to complete the educational and training portion of your Iowa resident concealed carry permit application. Should you choose to move forward with your application after completing the free training and passing the certification test, you will have the option to download the required certificate of completion from our site. Once you have downloaded the certificate of completion, we will provide you with the step by step process you need to take to complete your application with the State of Iowa. Our online course and certificate complete the requirement for the State of Iowa for handgun training and education.

3. How old do I have to be to qualify for an Iowa Concealed Carry Permit?

21 years old.

The State of Iowa has created a comprehensive list of eligibility requirements here:
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/661.91.pdf

4. If approved, are there restrictions on where and when I can carry a concealed weapon?

Yes. Places you may NOT carry concealed in Iowa include but are not limited to:

- As always, you must comply with federal law restrictions.

- Weapon free zones as defined by the state

-Within 1,000 feet of a private or public elementary or secondary school including athletic complexes

- Public parks with the exception of those designated for hunting

-Any of the 3 Iowa State Universities functions or events

-Casinos

- The State Fair

-School buses

-Any place while under the influence of drugs or alcohol

-Any courthouse

Please refer to Iowa state laws for an in depth breakdown or if you are unsure about where you can carry.

5. Can I get a refund?

At Concealed Coalition we understand that life happens all around us, all the time and many times is out of our control. For our in-person trainings we will do our best to accommodate you by rescheduling your training. Unfortunately, due to high demand, preparation costs and limited seating, if you call to reschedule between 24 - 72 hours before the day of your class, you will be charged a $35 rescheduling fee. However, if you do not notify us prior to 24 hours, do not show up or miss your elected class, it is not refundable, and you will have to pay full price to attend the class.

For online trainings the course you purchased is an online course and is delivered upon purchase. Since you will have already received our education via our online portal, we will be unable to refund you for any online order. All other refunds are on a case-by-case basis.

6. How can I be sure that this course is valid?

Documentation of familiarity of a handgun is the noted requirement by Iowa law to fulfill the requirement for training in your application for a concealed carry permit. Our state certified trainer holds multiple certifications along with years of practical handgun experience. The course we offer online is comprised of nationally recognized course training materials used in all 50 states. We assure you with the satisfaction guarantee that our online training course is not only valid but exceeds the minimum requirements for handgun safety training as outlined in the concealed carry permit requirements.

-For more information about our trainer and the curriculum click the link below.
Course Credentials

7. Where can I find more information about Iowa concealed carry permits?

The State of Iowa website explains the concealed carry permit process for Iowa residents in detail here:
https://dps.iowa.gov/divisions/administrative-services/weapons-permit

8. If approved, how many years is my permit issued for?

5 years